Home > Connect > About Us > History and Mission


Growing stronger communities and building brighter financial futures one member at a time.








Community Focus Federal Credit Union, formally National Steel Federal Credit Union, was originally chartered in 1960 as a financial cooperative serving the salaried employees of National Steel and their families. In January 2002, CFFCU became a community chartered credit union to better serve the National Steel employees and the people living and working in the communities in the Downriver area. At that time, our charter expanded to 15 cities: Allen Park, Brownstown, Ecorse, Flat Rock, Gibraltar, Grosse Ile, Lincoln Park, Melvindale, River Rouge, Riverview, Rockwood, Southgate, Trenton, Woodhaven, and Wyandotte.

In April 2010, Huron Township, Romulus and Taylor were included in the communities we serve. Over the years, Community Focus Federal Credit Union has continued to grow and evolve with the needs of our community to transform into a full service financial institution, offering a wide array of financial products and services to help our members meet their personal financial goals.


Go to main navigation